top of page
  • Kinder Alexander

Planning and Preparing for Prom

Prom is an event that is anticipated by many juniors and seniors in high school, they have seen their upperclassmen attend previously and are excited for it to be their time. Prom dress shopping and tuxedo fittings, along with making appointments, picking restaurants and photo locations are all part of the students’ journey and what makes prom such a special event.

Senior, Emily Collins said “I am most looking forward to being able to take pictures with my friends and getting to dance and sing throwback songs with my best friends!! Taking pictures is always my favorite part because I love capturing sweet moments like these with my friends and family!”

Preparations for prom start in the fall of the year before, when our junior advisory decides on a prom theme and starts planning for the big event. After picking a theme, prom committees are formed and are assigned with specific tasks to make this special memory become a reality for the attending students.

When asked “What all is junior advisory doing to prepare for prom?”, Trinity Avery, a junior advisory member, says “lots of invitation prep, prom promise, venues and catering, decorations and theme, a DJ, and a prom playlist.” She also says, “Just making sure everyone is going to enjoy it as much and safely as possible is an important factor.”

A lot of variables come into play and it’s a big job to make sure everything cohesively comes together in the end. Mackenzie Ainsworth, another junior advisory member, shared “I really think the hardest part about planning prom is just how time consuming it is. We have the people and the creativity, but it just takes a lot of time to get everything done.”

Students attending the prom also go thorough lots of preparation before the special night. Senior, Heidi Coughenour says “prepping for prom is what all my excitement is about for at least a whole month before and until the next day honestly. This year I have my favorite dress ever, my dates outfit is all organized, I have planned out all my appointments, and planned the dinner along with pictures, and I hope it all plays out for a fun night!”

Senior Emily Collins says, “since this is my senior prom, I am sad that it’s coming to an end, but also am super excited to get to dress up once more with friends and have an amazing night! It’s nights like these that I am going to miss most when I’m off at college, but I know that I will be able to cherish these moments forever.”

When all is said and done, good times will be had, memories will be made, and another prom will be behind us. Junior advisory will finally be able to see their hard work pay off in the end and the students attending prom will be able to have a prom night that they will remember for many years to come!

Photo Credit: Google Pictures

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page